Second Nature's Climate Leadership Network provides colleges and universities a framework to make public commitments to climate action. College and University presidents and chancellors make public, institutional commitments by signing onto one of the Presidents’ Climate Leadership Commitments, becoming Climate Leadership Network signatories.

  • Carbon Commitment:  Eliminating greenhouse gas emissions and achieving carbon neutrality as soon as  possible.
  • Resilience Commitment:  Climate adaptation planning and community capacity building to respond to climate impacts.
  • Climate Commitment:  Integrates carbon neutrality with climate resilience and provides a comprehensive approach to mitigating and adapting to a changing climate.

All three commitments require publicly reporting progress, and creating and revising an action plan.

race_to_zero_logo.jpg Race to Zero - Universities and Colleges - is a global campaign to rally leadership and action in the education sector and is supported by Second Nature, EAUC, and UNEP


Name Carbon CommitmentClimate CommitmentResilience CommitmentRace to Zero
Richland Campus - Dallas CollegeYes
Rider UniversityYesYes
Rio Salado CollegeYesYes
Rochester Institute of TechnologyYesYes
Roger Williams UniversityYesYes
Rose-Hulman Institute of TechnologyYesYes
Royal Agricultural University (United Kingdom)Yes
Royal Veterinary College (United Kingdom)Yes
Rutgers the State University of New Jersey New Brunswick Campus
Saint Joseph's College of MaineYesYes
Saint Mary's College of CaliforniaYes
Saint Peter's UniversityYesYes
Salem State UniversityYesYes
Salisbury UniversityYesYes
San Antonio CollegeYesYes
San Diego State UniversityYesYes
San Francisco State UniversityYesYes
San Jose State UniversityYes
Santa Clara UniversityYesYes
Santa Fe Community CollegeYesYes
Santa Monica CollegeYesYes
Sarnath International Nyingma Institute (India)Yes
School of Environment and Sustainability Student Association (Canada)Yes
School of the Art Institute of ChicagoYes
Scottsdale Community CollegeYesYes
Scripps CollegeYes
Selkirk College (Canada)Yes
Sewanee: The University of the SouthYesYes
Shaheed Bhagat Singh College, University of Delhi (India)Yes
Shasta CollegeYes
Shimoni Core PTC (Uganda)Yes
Shippensburg UniversityYes
Shoreline Community CollegeYesYes
Sierra Nevada CollegeYes
Simon Fraser UniversityYes
Slippery Rock University of PennsylvaniaYesYes
Smith CollegeYesYes
Solent University (United Kingdom)Yes
Sonoma State UniversityYes
Sorbonne University Abu Dhabi (United Arab Emirates)Yes
Southern Connecticut State UniversityYesYes
Southern Illinois University CarbondaleYes
Southern New Hampshire UniversityYes
Southern Oregon UniversityYesYes
South Essex College of Further and Higher EducationYes
South Mountain Community CollegeYes
Southwestern UniversityYesYes
Spelman CollegeYes
Springfield CollegeYesYes
SRUC (United Kingdom)Yes