Second Nature's Climate Leadership Network provides colleges and universities a framework to make public commitments to climate action. College and University presidents and chancellors make public, institutional commitments by signing onto one of the Presidents’ Climate Leadership Commitments, becoming Climate Leadership Network signatories.

  • Carbon Commitment:  Eliminating greenhouse gas emissions and achieving carbon neutrality as soon as  possible.
  • Resilience Commitment:  Climate adaptation planning and community capacity building to respond to climate impacts.
  • Climate Commitment:  Integrates carbon neutrality with climate resilience and provides a comprehensive approach to mitigating and adapting to a changing climate.

All three commitments require publicly reporting progress, and creating and revising an action plan.

race_to_zero_logo.jpg Race to Zero - Universities and Colleges - is a global campaign to rally leadership and action in the education sector and is supported by Second Nature, EAUC, and UNEP


Name Carbon CommitmentClimate CommitmentResilience CommitmentRace to Zero
Xavier UniversityYesYes
Worcester State UniversityYesYes
Worcester Polytechnic InstituteYes
Wofford CollegeYes
William Rainey Harper CollegeYes
Whitworth UniversityYes
Whitman CollegeYes
Western Technical CollegeYesYes
Western Michigan UniversityYes
Western Colorado UniversityYesYes
West Chester University of PennsylvaniaYesYes
Wells CollegeYesYes
Weber State UniversityYesYes
Washtenaw Community CollegeYes
Washington & Jefferson CollegeYesYes
Washington CollegeYes
Washington and Lee UniversityYesYes
Warren Wilson CollegeYesYes
Virginia Wesleyan UniversityYesYes
Virginia Commonwealth UniversityYesYes
Villanova UniversityYesYes
Vermont Law SchoolYesYes
Vassar CollegeYesYes
Valencia CollegeYesYes
Utah State UniversityYesYes
Ursinus CollegeYes
University of Wisconsin-WhitewaterYesYes
University of Wisconsin-StoutYesYes
University of Wisconsin-Stevens PointYesYes
University of Wisconsin-OshkoshYesYes
University of Wisconsin-MilwaukeeYes
University of Wisconsin-MadisonYes
University of Wisconsin-Green BayYes
University of Wisconsin-Eau ClaireYesYes
University of VermontYesYes
University of UtahYesYes
University of Tennessee at MartinYes
University of St. ThomasYesYes
University of South FloridaYes
University of Southern MississippiYesYes
University of Southern MaineYesYes
University of San FranciscoYesYes
University of San DiegoYes
University of RichmondYesYes
University of Puget SoundYesYes
University of Puerto Rico at UtuadoYes
University of PittsburghYes
University of PennsylvaniaYesYes
University of Oklahoma Norman CampusYesYes
University of North Carolina at CharlotteYesYes