Second Nature's Climate Leadership Network provides colleges and universities a framework to make public commitments to climate action. College and University presidents and chancellors make public, institutional commitments by signing onto one of the Presidents’ Climate Leadership Commitments, becoming Climate Leadership Network signatories.

  • Carbon Commitment:  Eliminating greenhouse gas emissions and achieving carbon neutrality as soon as  possible.
  • Resilience Commitment:  Climate adaptation planning and community capacity building to respond to climate impacts.
  • Climate Commitment:  Integrates carbon neutrality with climate resilience and provides a comprehensive approach to mitigating and adapting to a changing climate.

All three commitments require publicly reporting progress, and creating and revising an action plan.

race_to_zero_logo.jpg Race to Zero - Universities and Colleges - is a global campaign to rally leadership and action in the education sector and is supported by Second Nature, EAUC, and UNEP


NameCarbon CommitmentClimate CommitmentResilience CommitmentRace to Zero
Alamo Colleges District
Albion CollegeYes
Bay de Noc Community CollegeYes
Boise State UniversityYes
Brevard CollegeYes
Bryn Mawr CollegeYes
Cabrillo CollegeYes
California Lutheran UniversityYes
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis ObispoYes
California State University-Channel IslandsYes
California State University-Dominguez HillsYes
California State University-San BernardinoYes
California State University-San MarcosYes
Calvin UniversityYes
Carnegie Mellon UniversityYes
Cedar Valley Campus - Dallas CollegeYes
Central CollegeYes
Central Oregon Community CollegeYes
Claflin UniversityYes
Cleveland State UniversityYes
Coastal Carolina UniversityYes
Community College of PhiladelphiaYes
Concordia College-MoorheadYes
Creighton UniversityYes
Dallas CollegeYes
Drexel UniversityYes
Earlham CollegeYes
Eastfield Campus - Dallas CollegeYes
Emory UniversityYes
Endicott CollegeYes
Florida Agricultural and Mechanical UniversityYes
Framingham State UniversityYes
Gallaudet UniversityYes
Goucher CollegeYes
Grand Valley State UniversityYes
Grinnell CollegeYes
Harvey Mudd CollegeYes
Hendrix CollegeYes
Illinois CollegeYes
Instituto Tecnologico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey
Kennesaw State UniversityYes
Lawrence UniversityYes
Lewis and Clark Community CollegeYes
Maricopa Community College System Office
Massachusetts College of Art and DesignYes
Massasoit Community CollegeYes
Medical University of South CarolinaYes
Miami UniversityYes
Mt. Hood Community CollegeYes
Nassau Community CollegeYes