Second Nature's Climate Leadership Network provides colleges and universities a framework to make public commitments to climate action. College and University presidents and chancellors make public, institutional commitments by signing onto one of the Presidents’ Climate Leadership Commitments, becoming Climate Leadership Network signatories.

  • Carbon Commitment:  Eliminating greenhouse gas emissions and achieving carbon neutrality as soon as  possible.
  • Resilience Commitment:  Climate adaptation planning and community capacity building to respond to climate impacts.
  • Climate Commitment:  Integrates carbon neutrality with climate resilience and provides a comprehensive approach to mitigating and adapting to a changing climate.

All three commitments require publicly reporting progress, and creating and revising an action plan.

race_to_zero_logo.jpg Race to Zero - Universities and Colleges - is a global campaign to rally leadership and action in the education sector and is supported by Second Nature, EAUC, and UNEP


Name Carbon CommitmentClimate CommitmentResilience CommitmentRace to Zero
Agnes Scott CollegeYesYes
Albion CollegeYes
Allegheny CollegeYesYes
American UniversityYesYes
Antioch University New EnglandYesYes
Appalachian State UniversityYesYes
Arizona State UniversityYesYes
Auburn UniversityYesYes
Augsburg UniversityYesYes
Austin CollegeYesYes
Austin Community College DistrictYesYes
Babson CollegeYesYes
Ball State UniversityYesYes
Bard CollegeYesYes
Bates CollegeYesYes
Bay de Noc Community CollegeYes
Bellevue CollegeYesYes
Bemidji State UniversityYesYes
Bennington CollegeYesYes
Bentley UniversityYesYes
Black Hills State UniversityYesYes
Boise State UniversityYes
Bowdoin CollegeYesYes
Bowie State UniversityYesYes
Bowling Green State UniversityYesYes
Brandeis UniversityYesYes
Brevard CollegeYes
Brookhaven Campus - Dallas CollegeYesYes
Broome Community CollegeYesYes
Bryn Mawr CollegeYes
Bucknell UniversityYesYes
Bunker Hill Community CollegeYesYes
Butler UniversityYesYes
Cabrillo CollegeYes
California College of the ArtsYesYes
California Lutheran UniversityYes
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis ObispoYes
California State Polytechnic University-PomonaYesYes
California State University-Channel IslandsYes
California State University-ChicoYesYes
California State University-Dominguez HillsYes
California State University-East BayYesYes
California State University-FullertonYesYes
California State University-Long BeachYesYes
California State University-Los AngelesYesYes
California State University-Monterey BayYesYes
California State University-NorthridgeYesYes
California State University-SacramentoYesYes
California State University-San BernardinoYes
California State University-San MarcosYes