Second Nature's Climate Leadership Network provides colleges and universities a framework to make public commitments to climate action. College and University presidents and chancellors make public, institutional commitments by signing onto one of the Presidents’ Climate Leadership Commitments, becoming Climate Leadership Network signatories.

  • Carbon Commitment:  Eliminating greenhouse gas emissions and achieving carbon neutrality as soon as  possible.
  • Resilience Commitment:  Climate adaptation planning and community capacity building to respond to climate impacts.
  • Climate Commitment:  Integrates carbon neutrality with climate resilience and provides a comprehensive approach to mitigating and adapting to a changing climate.

All three commitments require publicly reporting progress, and creating and revising an action plan.

race_to_zero_logo.jpg Race to Zero - Universities and Colleges - is a global campaign to rally leadership and action in the education sector and is supported by Second Nature, EAUC, and UNEP


NameCarbon Commitment Climate CommitmentResilience CommitmentRace to Zero
Agnes Scott CollegeYesYes
Albion CollegeYes
Allegheny CollegeYesYes
American UniversityYesYes
Appalachian State UniversityYesYes
Arizona State UniversityYesYes
Ball State UniversityYesYes
Bemidji State UniversityYesYes
Bennington CollegeYesYes
Black Hills State UniversityYesYes
Bowie State UniversityYesYes
Brevard CollegeYes
Brookhaven Campus - Dallas CollegeYesYes
California Lutheran UniversityYes
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis ObispoYes
California State University-ChicoYesYes
California State University-Long BeachYesYes
California State University-Los AngelesYesYes
California State University-Monterey BayYesYes
California State University-NorthridgeYesYes
California State University-San BernardinoYes
California State University-San MarcosYes
Cal Poly HumboldtYesYes
Calvin UniversityYes
Carnegie Mellon UniversityYes
Cedar Valley Campus - Dallas CollegeYes
Central Community CollegeYesYes
Chandler-Gilbert Community CollegeYesYes
Chatham UniversityYesYes
Clarkson UniversityYesYes
Coe CollegeYesYes
Colby-Sawyer CollegeYesYes
Colgate UniversityYesYes
College of Lake CountyYesYes
College of Saint BenedictYesYes
Concordia College-MoorheadYes
Dallas CollegeYes
Dickinson CollegeYesYes
Earlham CollegeYes
Eastern Connecticut State UniversityYesYes
Eastern Kentucky UniversityYesYes
Eastfield Campus - Dallas CollegeYes
Emerson CollegeYesYes
Emory & Henry CollegeYesYes
Emory UniversityYes
Estrella Mountain Community CollegeYesYes
Gateway Community College (AZ)YesYes
Gateway Technical CollegeYesYes
Glendale Community College (AZ)YesYes
Hampshire CollegeYesYes